Winning European Ryder Cup Team awarded 2023 Association of Golf Writers Trophy…


This year’s winning European Ryder Cup team, captained by Luke Donald, has been voted the recipient of the prestigious 2023 Association Golf Writers (AGW) Golf Writers trophy award.

Members of the Association, and in a very close decision, voted with a majority in favour of the European Ryder Cup Team.

Donald and his team regained the Ryder Cup with a comprehensive five-point triumph at the Marco Simone course in Rome.

Luke Donald & The winning Ryder Cup Tes,

AGW History…

This year marks a 73rd straight year members have voted for the award.

And in a first since 2006, the European Ryder Cup team has been honoured with the AGW’s leading award.

Donald had been a member of both the 2004 and 2006 European winning teams.

Both were honoured with the Association of Golf Writers Trophy.

With the AGW members voting in favour of awarding Donald the trophy in 2011. For his outstanding individual golfing efforts that year.

In accepting this year’s award, Donald proudly spoke on behalf of his victorious team:

On behalf of the 2023 European Ryder Cup team, I can say that each and every one of us is delighted to have been voted as the winners of this year’s AGW Golf Writers Trophy”, he said.


By Ian Mullins
Association of Golf Writers Trophy